Chicago Marathon: Base Building Week 2

One of the positives of coming back from a long time off from running is that it’s easy to accumulate farthest and fastest records. This week I had my farthest run, fastest mile, and highest weekly mileage in over 14 months. Woo hoo! And while they’re not huge numbers it means that signing up for the Chicago Marathon has done it’s job of motivating me to become more consistent with running again. It better, or it’s going to be a long 26.2 miles in October!

Monday: 3 miles @ 9:32 pace (9:50, 9:31, 9:05) + 15 minutes stretching

Tuesday: 2 miles @9:53 pace + 20 minutes of strength & ITB work

Wednesday: off

Thursday: 3.25 miles @9:32 pace

Friday: off (planned to make it to the gym but the baby’s nap schedule was off that morning & we had plans to meet friends at the playground later in the morning)

Saturday: off

Sunday: 4.5 miles @9:28 pace (9:38, 8:47, 9:43, 9:39, .5@9:31)

Weekly total: 12.75 miles

Sunday’s run was a nice chance to run outside instead of on the treadmill. I’m trying to keep my long runs slow and easy so I decided to not look at my watch at all while running. I was pleasantly surprised to see an 8:47 mile in there! I ran an out and back that on miles 2 & 3 cover the stretch of road where I’ve logged the most miles and I love to run. It’s where I do my a lot of my speed work and I know exactly where the 400m, 800m & 1600m spots are. On long runs it’s the point where I feel like I’m in the home stretch so I’m not surprised to see that’s where I ran my fastest mile.

When I got home my 4 year old was waiting at the door to go for a run with me and we did a cool down lap around our neighborhood. I love having her ask to go for a run instead of asking for the iPad! #smallvictories Good way to cool down and get to hear all that’s going on (which is a lot!) in that little mind of hers. Perfect start to Mother’s Day!

IMG_7752

Leave a Reply

