Chicago Marathon: Training Week 1

I haven’t been updating my blog, because early on in training I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to complete it or the marathon. It felt like nearly every run was bad or short or skipped entirely and rather write about that I was sticking with just logging miles in Daily Mile instead. Checking back in on the blog, debating whether to start again or not, and found this unpublished draft from over 2 months ago! Oops!

First week into training and I already missed a run – eek! I know that fitting in training is not going to be as easy as it was the last time I trained for a marathon, but as a stickler for a schedule it still pains me to have missed a workout. I’ve decided to go ahead and follow  Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 Marathon Training plan. I loved the Run Less, Run Faster plan that I followed last time which called for only 3 runs per week (speed work, tempo and long run) and 2 days of cross-training. Here’s a secret – I don’t love running! Yes, I’m writing a running blog. Yes, I spent most of 2013 training for and thinking about races. Yes, I’ve signed up for my 2nd marathon. And yes, I still dread nearly every run. BUT, I love the feeling of accomplishment afterward. Finishing my first marathon was easily one of the top 5 best days of my life. but at this point I’m not sure that I would be able to fit in 2 days/week of cross-training while Little Sis is still so young. It’s a lot easier for me to be able to hop on the treadmill during nap time – whenever that may be. Hal Higdon has 14(!) different training plans, and the Novice 2 seemed like it had enough miles that I would feel trained enough for a marathon while still being doable so that’s the one I’m going with. Check back after October 11th to see how it turned out!

Leave a Reply

