Life & Running lately

Clearly there hasn’t been any blogging, and not much more running going on lately. I’ve sat down a dozen times to blog, but just stared at the screen without much to say, or motivation to say anything. My post-marathon high of wanting to jump back into running and blogging has flagged to say the least. But, I did find a blog post I had started a week or two ago and with a couple edits it still makes sense to where my head and running are now.

Screen Shot 2015-11-20 at 8.14.07 PM

It’s been nearly over a month since the Chicago Marathon, yet it feels like it was at least a year ago since I ran it. It’s crazy to think that a month ago I ran a marathon and now I’d be nervous about going out for a 1512, 10 mile run. And despite last week’s month’s proclamation of looking for a training plan, or at least a goal race, I haven’t made much progress in either. Most likely I won’t run a spring marathon. The likelihood of me being within reach of my marathon PR by then is slim-to-none and I don’t want to run another marathon until it’s at least a possibility. And while Fall in New England has been incredibly beautiful and warm, it’s only a matter of time before the freezing temps and snow is here which means half-marathon race options come to a near standstill until March at the earliest. Which is good, because it gives me time to work on improving my paces. When I was in school I always loved tests. I liked the fun of seeing how well I could do. Running to me is similar. Training is the studying and the race is the test to see how well I’ve done. At this point I feel like I need a lot more training before I’d feel like running a race would be fun.

So right now I’m training to train. I came up with a plan based on the Run Less, Run Faster workouts and added in a day of easy running in place of cross-training. I also added a day for Spin class + Strength Conditioning, but so far I’m 1 for 3  of actually doing it. My plan is to re-evaluate at the end of November December how I feel fitness wise, and then try to narrow down a goal race.

Operation: Get Faster weekly training recaps below. Blue is my planned workout with red being my actual workout:

Screen Shot 2015-11-18 at 2.05.39 PM

You may have noticed last week’s training has all the blue planned workouts and only one red, completed workout. We took the girls on a trip to Disneyworld and despite my best plans of running while I was there, it never happened. There were too may rides to go on, characters to meet, pools to swim in, and relaxation to be had to worry about fitting in a run.

One thought on “Life & Running lately

  1. Sounds like you were taking a much needed break and enjoying some quality family time and a fun vacation! Hopefully the new plan is working out now and giving you some flexibility. I guess we shouldn’t really complain about the cold in the PNW compared to northeast winters…but we do anyway 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

