March Wrap Up

It’s the sickness that never ends. Yes it goes on and on my friends. 

That’s pretty much how March felt. I talked about first feeling sick HERE ,and then again HERE, culminating with what I hoped was the end HERE. Well my poor mom didn’t know what she was getting herself into when she came out to visit. Less than 48 hours after landing she got sick too. Hers was just a 24 hour bug, but she never felt back to 100% during her trip. Every inch of my house had been disinfected, but we just couldn’t seem to stay healthy this month. Now that March is over let’s put a lid on all the sickness too, mmkay? Good.

IMG_5541

Despite missing a few runs due to sickness and my ankle/heel bothering me (which I’ll get to), I still ran 130+ miles which is a lot for me. It was mostly a confidence boosting month too, earning a new 5k PR and having more energy and an easier time with my runs, but the last few weeks have sort of dampened the momentum I had going.

Obviously last week’s running took a backseat to family, and when I did get back to running it was a total slog. This week I felt nervous starting my runs, especially since my first run of the week was to speed work. I felt surprisingly good for the rest of my runs this week, so I was really bummed when my ankle/heel started annoying me Thursday. Nothing felt off or weird while I was running, but later that day there was a dull ache in the very back of my heel and a little tightness in my ankle. Given that I still have 8 weeks until my race I figured it was smarter to take off a few days now, rather than trying to push it and ending up with a serious injury. Consistent icing and ibuprofen over the last 3 days has helped and everything feels fine today. Fingers crossed (plus foam rolling, stretching, and strengthening my calves) that this is the last of it!

Weekly Training: March 28 – April 3

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: Plan: 2 x (6×400) (90 sec RI); (2min 30 RI b/t sets) – Actual: 2M w/u @8:23
Set 1: (1:48, 1:50, 1:40, 1:41, 1:45, 1:39) (6:55 avg) Set 2: (1:52, 1:41, 1:50, 1:45, 1:44, 1:38) (6:59 avg) 1M c/d: 8:18 – With my mom in town and feeling better after her 24 hour bug, I was able to run this outside while L was napping. I headed over to a straight, one-mile stretch near me that I’ve done a lot of speed work on. It runs along a building, so aside from one intersection (located conveniently at the 800m mark) and a couple truck entrances & exits that aren’t busy, it’s a great place to run speed work with little interruption.
It was crazy windy with 25 mph wind gusts so I decided to aim for an even effort rather than focusing on pace. The first set felt really good and even heading into the wind I felt strong. I also decided that running a point-to-point marathon with a 25 mph tailwind would be amazing! The second set started with a bit of a snafu and ended up as the slowest one of the day.

Screen Shot 2016-04-03 at 9.19.09 PM
This was my first time setting a workout and downloading it to my Garmin and there was a bit of a learning curve to it. As the end of the repeat was approaching my watch would start beeping and then would vibrate once I actually completed the repeat. Except I could not remember that the beeping didn’t mean the repeat was over. Probably 7 out of 12 times I would start to slow to a stop once it started beeping, only to look down and see it wasn’t really over and try to speed back up. My other mistake was how I set up the repeats. Because I had set 6 repeats with a 1:30 sec rest interval and a 2:30 rest interval in between sets it gave me both after my 1st set. Except I didn’t realize it was going into the 2:30 rest interval and started running. After running to what I expected to be the 400m mark with no beeping I looked down to see I was really 1:35 into the rest interval. So with only 60 seconds of rest and mentally being totally thrown off, I turned around to start the real 1st repeat of the 2nd set. Straight into the wind. And uphill. Both ways (just kidding, but it really was into the wind and uphill). I totally gave up with about a 100m to go and jogged in the rest. I regrouped a bit for the next one, but it threw me off for the rest of the repeats and I lost track of how many I still had to do. Luckily my watch was programmed to let me know!
IMG_5506Wednesday: Plan: 8M Easy – Actual: 8M @8:54 – My mom was still staying with us so I was able to head out at nap time for another run. There is a popular trail near me that I usually never run on, but since it was such a beautiful day I decided to incorporate it into my run. It was a nice change of scenery and a lot of people were out taking advantage of the nice weather. Overall the effort felt comfortable.
IMG_5461

Thursday: Plan: 1M Easy, 2M MT, 1M easy, 2M MT, 1M Easy – Actual: 1M @9:25, 2M @8:00, 1M @9:23, 2M @8:03, 1M @9:16 – Back to the gym for this one. Going in to this I was nervous to try faster mid-tempo paces on the treadmill, since the same pace always feels much faster to me on the treadmill versus outdoors. The first set went by quickly and even the first mile of the second set did too. All of a sudden it felt really fast during the last of the tempo miles. Instead of immediately moving to cool down, which is a tendency I have when things get hard, I slowed down the pace by 10 seconds which got me through it. 

Friday: Gym – Strength & Stretching – Focused mostly on upper body, core, and stretching since I didn’t want to do anything further that might bother my ankle. 

Saturday: Plan: 10M @HMP+20 – Actual: off – After a late night out for me (I don’t remember the last time I was out until 12:30!) and an early morning wake-up, I was pretty relieved to have called off my long run. Each month we switch off hosting a girl’s night among a big group of us from the neighborhood. My friend hosting this month planned a psychic party and it was so much fun! I’d never had a psychic reading before, and wasn’t sure I was going to get one, but it was pretty entertaining listening to everyone recount what she had told them. I ended up getting one, and even though it seemed way off target, it was a good time. 

Sunday: off

Weekly Total: 21 miles

Have you ever been to a psychic? Was it accurate for you? 

 

4 thoughts on “March Wrap Up

  1. Nice job this month! You nailed those repeats, those are some speedy times given all the headwind you had to deal with!

    Haha I have been to a psychic a couple times in college, with a friend of mine, we just thought it was such a riot. It….actually really was kind of accurate. But, I wonder how much of that is us sort of finding the accuracy because we want it to be there.

    Like

    • LOL – I hoped I could gleam on to anything for accuracy, but it was just SO wrong. I figured that there would be at least some generalizations that I could apply to my life, but nope.

      Like

  2. Never been to a psychic, lol!
    Great week overall! You’re doing so good!! I’ve also never programmed a workout on my Garmin but keep meaning to now that I’m not training for anything (so I can practice, lol!). I’m SOO not tech savvy so I’ll have to play with it a few times I’m sure, ja!

    Like

    • It was cool having it already done for me, instead of trying to keep track of what repeat I was at or looking at my watch continuously to see if I hit the right distance. I did a couple things wrong, but I feel like next time it will be even easier to program!

      Like

Leave a Reply

